In Nomine Patris

Panel discussion on the occasion of the first presentation of the altar installation of the same name

YOU ARE HERE:@///cloud.cuckoo.land

In Nomine Patris

It was only in the summer of 2022 that Pope Francis asked the indigenous people of Canada for forgiveness for the crimes committed by church representatives in schools for indigenous children. The chain of abuse cases within the Catholic Church does not break. But news of sexualised violence against children and structural discrimination has dominated the media not only since the #MeToo debate. The perpetrators are mostly male and continue to use partriachal social structures, as recent events in Iran testify.

With his new work "In Nomine Patris", media artist Julian Kirschler wants to send a clear signal against violence and abuse of power. From 2023, the altar installation will be shown at various locations. The "Altar on Tour" campaign calls for dialogue and starts with a kick-off event at the Altes Schlachthof Pforzheim.

Zeynep Sayin and Robert Eikmeyer take the arrival of the altar as an opportunity to talk with the artist about historical and contemporary image politics in the context of sexualised and structural violence.

Zeynep Sayin is a professor of image studies and teaches at various universities in Europe. Sayin combines image theory and political theory and has been subject to official repression for her work on historical and contemporary image politics.

Robert Eikmeyer is an art scholar and staff member at Pforzheim University. His work and research focuses on the radical avant-garde, totalitarian art, contextual art and participatory practices.

Julian Kirschler is a media artist who lives and works in Pforzheim. Most recently, he caused a sensation with his photo project "High Noon", which shows images of European cities infected with a picture virus during the lockdown.

Admission is free

In Nomine Patris

YOU ARE HERE:@///clouds.cuckoos.home Der Raum des Unbehagens / The space of discomfort

cloud.cuckoo.land. LAB

cloud.cuckoo.land. LAB

YOU ARE HERE:@///cloud.cuckoo.land is an interactive and immersive exhibition concept for photography with specially composed soundscapes that focuses on the visitor's experience of art. It is [r]evolutionary and novel in the range of its many facets. An exhibition is scalable in size and number of exhibits and can be created from the currently completed thematic and pictorial worlds HIGH NOON and BERGE, WIESEN, WÄLDER. In total, both groups of works comprise over 500 works.

"...A cloud cuckoo's home as a chamber of wonders for the senses. Julian Kirschler opens up a new dimension to photography with his exhibition Cloud.cuckoo.land.lAB....."
 
Manfred Zollner, FotoMagazin

Under the label "cloud.cuckoo.land LAB", we presented the prototype of our interactive and immersive exhibition design for photography at the EMMA Kreativzentrum Pforzheim in November 2021.

Photo series

  • High Noon
  • High Noon
  • Mountains, Meadows & Forests
  • Mountains, Meadows & Forests

Julian Kirschler

"My photographic works are always also about an investigation of the influence of digitalisation and social media on our viewing habits. And about confronting the viewer with their own experiences, emotions and longings."

Julian Kirschler

© DOCDAYS/Knut Schmitz

Press area

Venice, November 2020

In Nomine Patris

Podiumsgespräch anlässlich der ersten Präsentation der gleichnamigen Altarinstallation

YOU ARE HERE:@///cloud.cuckoo.land

In Nomine Patris

Im Sommer 2022 erst bat Papst Franzikus die Ureinwohner Kanadas um Vergebung für die von Kirchenvertreter begangenen Verbrechen in Schulen für indigene Kinder. Die Kette von Missbrauchsfällen innerhalb der Katholischen Kirche reißt nicht ab. Aber Nachrichten von sexualisierter Gewalt gegen Kinder und struktureller Diskriminierung beherrschen die Medien nicht erst seit der #MeToo-Debatte. Die Täter sind zumeist männlich und nutzen weiterhin partriachalische Gesellschaftsstrukturen, wovon die jüngsten Ereignisse im Iran zeugen.

Mit seiner neuen Arbeit „In Nomine Patris“ will der Medienkünstler Julian Kirschler ein deutliches Zeichen gegen Gewalt und Machtmissbrauch setzen. Ab 2023 wird die Altarinstallation an verschiedenen Orten gezeigt. Die Aktion „Altar on Tour“ ruft zum Dialog auf und startet mit einer Auftaktveranstaltung im Alten Schlachthof Pforzheim.

Zeynep Sayin und Robert Eikmeyer nehmen die Ankunft des Altars als Anlass, um mit dem Künstler über historische und zeitgenössische Bildpolitik im Kontext von sexualisierter und struktureller Gewalt zu sprechen.

Zeynep Sayin ist Professorin für Bildwissenschaften und lehrt an verschiedenen Universitäten in Europa. Sayin verbindet Bildtheorie und politische Theorie und war wegen ihrer Arbeit zu historischen und zeitgenössischen Bildpolitiken behördlichen Repressionen ausgesetzt.

Robert Eikmeyer ist Kunstwissenschaftler und Mitarbeiter der Hochschule Pforzheim. Seine Arbeits- und Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen radikale Avantgarde, totalitäre Kunst, Kontextkunst und Participatory Practices.

Julian Kirschler ist Medienkünstler und lebt und arbeitet in Pforzheim. Zuletzt hat er mit seinem Fotoprojekt „High Noon“, das mit einem Bildvirus infizierte Aufnahmen von europäischen Städten während des Lockdowns zeigt, für Furore gesorgt.

Der Eintritt ist frei

Anfahrtsbeschreibung

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

In Nomine Patris

YOU ARE HERE:@///wolken.kuckucks.heim Der Raum des Unbehagens / The space of discomfort

cloud.cuckoo.land. LAB

cloud.cuckoo.land. LAB

Vimeo

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Vimeo.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

YOU ARE HERE:@///cloud.cuckoo.land ist ein interaktives und immersives Ausstellungskonzept für Fotografie mit eigens dafür komponierten Soundscapes, daß das Kunsterlebnis des Besuchers in den Mittelpunkt stellt. Es ist in der Bandbreite seiner vielfältigen Facetten [r]evolutionär und neuartig. Eine Ausstellung ist in Größe und Anzahl der Exponate skalierbar und kann aus den derzeit fertig realisierten Themen- und Bilderwelten HIGH NOON und BERGE, WIESEN, WÄLDER gestaltet werden. Insgesamt umfassen beide Werkgruppen über 500 Arbeiten.

»…Ein Wolkenkuckucksheim als Wunderkammer der Sinne. Julian Kirschler eröffnet der Fotografie mit seiner Ausstellung Cloud.cuckoo.land.lAB eine neue Dimension…..«
 
Manfred Zollner, FotoMagazin

Unter dem Label »cloud.cuckoo.land LAB« haben wir im November 2021 im EMMA Kreativzentrum Pforzheim den Prototypen unseres interaktiven und immersiven Ausstellungsdesigns für Fotografie präsentiert.

Foto-Serien

  • High Noon
  • High Noon
  • Berge, Wiesen & Wälder
  • Berge, Wiesen & Wälder

Julian Kirschler

Bio

»In meinen fotografischen Arbeiten geht es immer auch um eine Untersuchung des Einflusses von Digitalisierung und Social Media auf unsere Sehgewohnheiten. Und um die Konfrontation des Betrachters mit eigenen Erlebnissen, Emotionen und Sehnsüchten.«

Julian Kirschler

© DOCDAYS/Knut Schmitz

Pressebereich

Venedig, November 2020